Home > Sport > Other

Loyola and MOP Vaishnav clinch overall titles in athletic meet at Madras university

By Express News Service | Published: 27th October 2017 08:50 AM | Last Updated: 27th October 2017 08:50 AM | A+ A A- | 🖨



MOP Vaishnav College, winners of the Dr AL Mudaliar trophy (women) with Madras University Registrar Dr R Srinivasan and physical director Mahadevan, along with college principal Lalitha Balakrishnan and staff | D SAMPATH KUMAR CHENNAI: Loyola College with 13 gold medals, seven silver and one bronze won the overall men's championship, while MOP Vaishnav College with 14 golds, 10 silver and seven bronze won the overall crown in the women's segment on the final day of the Dr Sir A Lakshmanaswamy Mudaliar Golden Jubilee commemoration athletic meet, organised by University of Madras, here.

In the JC James Memorial individual championships, PS Vishnu of Presidency College with 1061 points was the champion in the men's section, while C Kanimozhi of MOP Vaishnav College with 1055 points was the topper in the women's segment. On Thursday, PS Vishnu of Presidency college stood out as he created a new mark (7.69 mts) in long jump.

Dr R Srinivasan, Registrar, University of Madras presented the prizes and trophies.

SAMPATH KUMAR Results: (only winners) Men: Half Marathon: C Durai Shankar (Loyola) 1:25.45 sec. 110 m hurdles: R Logeshwaran (Loyola) 15.2 sec.

Long Jump: PS Vishnu (Presidency) 7.69 mts (NMR). 200mts: B Sivakumar (Loyola) 21.4 sec. Discus Throw: V Santosh (Loyola) 39.56 mts.

1500 mts: S Benyamindaniel (DG Vaishnav) 4:01.4 sec. High Jump: R Esha Mohammed (DG Vaishnav) 1.98 mts. Decathlon: R Logeshwaran (Loyola) 5722 pts. 4x100 mts: Loyola 41.7 sec. 4X400mts: DG Vaishnav 3:16.8 sec (NMR). Women: Half Marathon: K Aananthi (MOP) 1:43.50 sec. 200 mts: AP Srija (MOP) 25.3 sec. Long Jump: S Harshini (MOP) 5.64 mts. 1500 mts: K. Priya (Soka Ikeda) 4:40.3 sec. Heptathlon: C. Kanimozhi (MOP) 4226 pts. 4x100 mts: MOP Vaishnav 48.4 sec. 4x400 mts: Soka Ikeda 4:02.4 sec. Team championship: Winner: Men: Loyola (21 medals), Runner-up: DG Vaishnav (16 medals). Women: MOP Vaishnav (31 medals). Runner-up: Soka Ikeda (20 medals).

Ads by Kiosked