



Cordially invites you to the inauguration of

Loyola History Association 2021-2022

Chief Guest

Mr. Sethuraman

Vice President
Tamil Nadu Congress Committee and
Member of AICC

On 26th October 2021 at 12.00 PM VENUE: L.S.HALL

Dr.D.AnurathaHead, Department of History

Prof.J.Ranganathan
Coordinator, Department of History

Inauguration of Loyola History Association 2021

The Department of History inaugurated the Loyola History Association for the academic year 2021-2022 on 26 October 2021 in L.S Hall at 12:00 pm.



The programme began with a prayer song by the department choir, followed by the lighting of the lamp by the Chief Guest, Heads, and office bearers of the Association. Nidhin D, Department Secretary of Shift-I, delivered the welcome address. Dr Biju Joseph P J honoured the Chief Guest with a shawl and Dr A. Arputha Selvi with a memento.

Dr Anuradha, Head of the Department, felicitated the guests during the inauguration programme and welcomed the participants. Prof. J. Ranganathan, the Coordinator, addressed the gathering and introduced the Chief Guest, Mr Swarna Sethuraman, Vice–President, TNCC and Member, AICC.

The Chief Guest's inaugural address highlighted the importance of education by quoting Nelson Mandela. According to Nelson Mandela, "How can we destroy a nation? You don't need missiles, atom bombs or other weapons. You only need to destroy the education system of that country. The collapse of education is the collapse of the nation." A nation prospers because of educated minds. He urged us to take education seriously and bear the fruit of it. He also spoke about the importance of history. "History is everywhere around us. Every monument, statue, and place has a history to tell. Knowing the history of a place will make our journey more enthusiastic."

On leadership qualities, he said, "The courage you showed to come forward is the first quality of a leader. Hope that you will make our country proud". He delivered a powerful message urging students to uphold their responsibility towards their families and nation.



After his speech, Prof. Ahilan Joe Woutres, President of Shift 1, introduced the office bearers from Shift I.

- ➤ Nidhin. D (Department Secretary)
- Jojo Joseph (Joint Secretary)
- Giridharan. P (Cultural Secretary)
- > Ebby. J (Sports Secretary)
- > Sasha Alfred Murray (College Student Council Representative)
- ➤ Gokul. M (Class Representative 2nd year)
- Abishek. R (Class Representative 3rd year)

Prof. A. Karoliya Jansirani, President of Shift-II, introduced the office bearers from Shift II.

- Vignesh. J (Department Secretary)
- ➤ Aswin AV (Joint Secretary)
- Rakesh Kannan R (Cultural Secretary)
- Manikandan P (Sports Secretary)
- Vishak Ratheesh Nair (PG Secretary)
- ➤ Josephin Jeba Priya (Class Representative 2M.A)
- ➤ Vinoliya Rose (Class Representative 1M.A)
- ➤ Dhanush V (Class Representative 3rd year)
- ➤ Prem Aravind (Class Representative 2nd year)
- Vignesh. J, Department Secretary, Shift- II, delivered the vote of thanks.

<u>History Association Inauguration - Visual Report</u>



Prayer Song by the Department Choir



Welcome Address by Nidhin D Secretary, Shift - I



Lighting the Lamp



Honouring the Chief Guest



Felicitation by Dr. D.Anuradha, Head of the Department



Introducing the Chief Guest by Prof. Ranganathan, Coordinator, Shift-II



Chief Guest Address



Prof. Ahilan Joe Woutres J.J Introducing Shift-I Office Bearers



Prof.Karoliya Jansirani Shift-II Office Bearers



Vote of Thanks by Introducing Vignesh.J,Secretary, Shift-II

Department Office Bearers & Association Team



