# COMMEMORATION OF 75TH YEAR OF INDEPENDENCE INTER- COLLEGE COMPETITION 2022-2023 & SPECIAL LECTURE

The Department of History organized an Inter-collegiate competition in connection with 'Azadi ka Amrit Mahotav' on 16th August 2022 at LS Hall. Students from various city colleges took part in this competition. The program commenced with the Quiz competition, welcomed by Maria Carvalho, and led by Quiz masters Nikhil Kumar, Akshaya J, and Keerthana Suresh from IIPG Students. It was followed by the English and Tamil Debate competition.

Dr. Pearline Paulraj from the Department of English and Dr. Soosai Sagayaraj from the Department of Tamil were the judges for the English and Tamil Debates respectively. Both the debates were moderated by Mr. Hareesh L.S. and Mr. Jeevith Anguram. Simultaneously, competitions like English and Tamil Essay Writing, Rangoli, and Pencil Sketching were also conducted.

The inauguration started with the prayer song by the department choir. Dr. D. Anuradha, HoD, felicitated the gathering and honored the chief guest Mr. C. Mohan Gopu IRS, Joint commissioner of GST Chennai, Ministry of Finance, Government of India. Prof. J. Ranganathan, Coordinator of the Department of History (Shift – II), addressed the gathering and introduced the chief guest. Mr. C. Mohan Gopu IRS explained the importance of the Indian freedom struggle, urging the students to know more about the unsung heroes of the Indian freedom struggle. He said that real empowerment is when one thinks rationally and starts asking questions. He continued to discuss the disparities in the education system and the importance of the place of birth in the role of discrimination. A brief talk on TNPSC and UPSC followed suit. He advised the students to be wary of unnecessary burdens. The uniqueness of preparation with a defined strategy and vision creates wonder.

After the chief guests' address, the results for the various competitions were announced by Prof. Karoliya Jansi Rani, President of the History Association (Shift 2). Stella Maris College bagged the maximum number of prizes, the runner-up being Madras Christian College.

## The Results were as follows:

# **Quiz Competition**

- → 1st- Stella Maris College
- → 2nd- Madras Christian College
- → 3rd- Stella Maris College

## **English Debate**

- → 1st- Madras Christian College
- → 2nd- Stella Maris College

#### **Tamil Debate**

- → 1st- Hindu College
- → 2nd- Stella Maris College
- → 3rd- Ethiraj College

# **English Essay Writing**

- → 1st- Women's Christian College
- → 2nd- Stella Maris College
- → 3rd- Stella Maris College

# **Tamil Essay Writing**

- → 1st- Stella Maris College
- → 2nd- Women's Christian College
- → 3rd- Madras Christian College

# Rangoli

- → 1st- Madras Christian College
- → 2nd- Ethiraj College
- → 3rd- Hindu College

# **Pencil Sketching**

- → 1st- Stella Maris College
- → 2nd- Women's Christian College
- → 3rd- Madras Christian College

The event ended with vote of thanks delivered by Dr R. Xavier - President of the History Association (Shift -I).