

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY LOYOLA COLLEGE (AUTONOMOUS) CHENNAI



Cordially invites you to the

Inauguration of History Association

Chief Guest

DR. M. GAUTAMAN

Former Head, Department of Sociology, Loyola College

Guest of Honour

MR. R. BALASUBRAMANI

Alumni (2004 Batch), Former Indian Volleyball Team Manager, Indian Overseas Bank Loyola College Branch

> 14 July, 2023 | 11:30 am L.S Hall

Dr. D. Anuradha

Head of the Department

Rev. Dr. J. Arockiasamy

Coordinator (Shift-II)

Dr. P. J. Biju Joseph

Association President (Shift-I) Mr. A. Jeevith Anguram

Association President (Shift-II) The inauguration of the History Association was held on14.07.2023 at 11.35am in the L.S. Hall. The event also commemorated the victory of the Department of History for achieving 3rd rank in India Today's Annual Survey. The MC's, Mr. Jeeva (III UG) and Ms. Keerthi (II PG) welcomed the Chief Guests and the gathering. The programme began with a prayer song rendered by the Department choir.

Dr.D.Anuradha, HOD, delivered the welcome address. She welcomed the Chief Guest Dr.M.Gautaman (OH Batch) Former Head, Department of Sociology, Loyola College and the guest of honour Mr.R.Balasubramani, Alumni (2004 Batch), Former Indian Volley Ball Team Manager, Indian Overseas Bank, Loyola College Branch. This was followed by a short video presentation prepared by Mr.Shafiq Ahmed, PG Secretary2023-24and his team-Pravinand Gayatri. The video showcased the efforts and achievements of the Department during the last four years. This was followed by the introduction of Mr. M. Gautaman by Mr. Jeevith Anguram. Dr. A. Arputha Selvi and Dr. R. Xavier felicitated the Chief Guest with a shawl and a memento respectively. Next, Dr. Biju Joseph P J introduced Mr. R. Balasubramani. Dr. I. Princes and Ms. Karoliya Jansi Rani felicitated the Guest of Honour with a shawl and a memento respectively. Mr. R. Balasubramani addressed the gathering and wished the office-bearers of the association. Next, Dr. M.Gautaman addressed the gathering and congratulated the office-bearers. He addressed on the significance of History and numerous illustrious alumni the Department of History has produced thus far. This was followed by the investiture ceremony. Prof. Ahilan Joe Woutres J J, Vice-President (Shift I) introduced the Shift I office-bearers and the badges were given away by Dr. M. Gautaman. Then Prof. Monicka B, Vice President (Shift II), introduced the Shift II office-bearers and the badges were given by Mr. R. Balasubramani. This was followed by two students showcasing their talent on-stage. First, Mr. Rustomjeet Usham (III BA History) presented his painting "New Dawn". Second, S. A. Krisaanth from (II M.A. History) narrated a poem on History which included the faculties of the department in a fictional way. The Vote of thanks was delivered by Rev. Dr. J. Arockiasamy, Coordinator (Shift II). The event ended with a Group photo of the newly formed History association along with the Chief Guests and the faculty of the Department.









