Department of Physics

Annual Report 2020-2021

With utmost submission to the benevolence of the almighty, the Loyola physics association office bearers were elected. For shift-I, Christopher Rozario K (19-PPH-012) as the Department secretary, Richard Thangaraj J (18-UPH-041) as the Cultural secretary, Arul Britto Kavin (18-UPH-060) as the joint secretary and Kavin S (18-UPH-053) as the sports secretary. For shift-II, Dorry Breeze G (18-UPH-219) as the Cultural secretary, Seraph Christan C (18-UPH-211) as the joint secretary, Nirmal Kumar R (18-UPH-306) as the sports secretary and Sriram S B (18-UPH-220) as the Loyola Students Union representative. Our zealous and energetic elected office bearers, launched the 'Loyola Physics Association activities' on November 2021.

Inter college cultural events and achievements

Students of the department of physics fervently participated in virtual cultural festivals of various city colleges. With their vigorous participation they've won many prizes. Bringing laurels to our department, our students also won the overall Trophy in the intercollegiate 'FIZIKA' conducted by the Presidency College.

Ovations

The Virtual Ovations grandiosely organised by the Loyola Student Union witnessed an enthusiastic and intense participation from the department of physics. Our students zestful participation has made them win in various events. Adheeshwaran Naveen won 2nd place in tamil debate and the teamwork of Daniel John Britto and Richard Thangaraj has made them win 2nd place in Treasure Hunt. We've also won 2nd place in light music and 1st place in Ad-zap.

International Webinar

Fore-seeing the future prospect of the youth an 'International Webinar on Nanostructures for Next Generation Devices' was organized by the Department of Physics and Dr. S. Cynthia Convened this innovative event. The eminent scholars Dr. Usha Philipose, University of North Texas, USA and Dr. John Kennedy, VIT University were the prominent guests for this event.

Knowledge enrichment of the faculty members

Moreover, the faculty members of the department of physics Dr. J. Mary linet, Dr. M. Victor Antony Raj and Dr. S. Stanley Raj attended Refresher Courses vibrantly during the academic year 2020-21.

National Conference

LPA organized the 2nd National conference on Material Science (NCMS 2021) on 18th March 2021. Rev. Dr. Francis P Xavier, Rector, Loyola Institutions, motivated and delivered the key note address for NCMS 2021. Post Graduate students of the Department of Physics were given preference in participation and presentation. Experts from Pondicherry University, TDK Corporations, Japan and Sacred Heart College, Tirupattur, shared their valuable knowledge and experience with the students. Dr. S. Pandian, Controller of Examination of the University of Madras issued certificates for the best presentation and motivated the students from his profound experience in the valedictory of NCMS 2021.

Achievements of the faculty and the department

We are proud and privileged of our enduring achiever, Dr. S. Jerome Das, Head of the Department of Physics who has successfully completed, guiding 25 Ph.D scholars in our department. We are also proud of and honoured by our Department of Physics on the accomplishment of guiding 150 Ph.D scholars during this academic year. We are delighted to convey that indigenously developed laboratory grade electronic supplements were marketed from the department of physics.