School of Humanities


The Department of History, “Where excellence is not a habit, but a tradition” has a history as old as Loyola College. The founding and the emergence of the department is in many respects exemplary of its age.

“Fr. Bertram, Fr. Murphy and Fr. Foreau of Madurai province were the founders of the college. It started its functioning from 7th July 1925 with 75 students on the rolls in the under-graduate courses of Mathematics, History and Economics”. (Loyola Alumni Directory (1925-2000) - “Milestones”)

The department had its periods of eclipse and revival. After a short spell, when the pass course in political science was abolished, its members were integrated with the History department. Ancillary politics and Logic were offered to students of other branches as well.

Faculty - Past
“The days of their years”
The ‘great’ and ‘eminent’ who served in the department and left lasting impressions are Dr. Appadurai - Later, founder the School of International Relations, Delhi, which is now part of the Jawaharlal Nehru University
Dr. S. Natarajan - Later, became Professor of History in Osmania University
Late Dr. Adisayam
Late Prof. Rajendran (Head of the Department - 1957-1967)
Late Prof. Berchmans (Head of the Department - 1967-1977)
Late Dr. Nambi Arooran
Prof. Valluvan Clarence Motha (Head of the Department - 1977-1984)
Late Dr. M. X. Miranda (Head of the Department - 1984-1985)
Prof U. Munuswamy (Head of the Department - 1985-1993)
Prof. D. P. Venugopalan, M.A. (Head of the Department - 1993-1995, Former Vice-Principal, Loyola College – 1999-2002)
Dr. G. J. Sudhakar, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. (Head of the Department - 1995-2000)
Rev. Dr. Alphonse Manickam S.J., M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., (Former Vice-Principal, Loyola Evening College & Self Supporting Courses) (2005-2006)
Rev.Fr. Arockiaraj, S.J., M.A.,M.Phil. (Head of the Department - 2006-2010)
Dr. Bernard D’ Sami, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. (Head of the Department - 2000-2005)
Dr. B.P. Jayachandran, M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D. (Head of the Department - 2010-2015)
Dr. L. Selvanathan M.A.,M.Phil.,Ph.D. (Head of the Department - 2015-2019)
Late Fr. Ignatius Irudayam S.J. and Late Rev. Fr. Subbiah had also served in the department.

The Department of History owes the above mentioned stalwarts, an immeasurable debt of gratitude which can never be repaid.


Dr D Anuradha

Head of the Department,
Department of History,
Loyola College (Autonomous),
Chennai - 600 034.
Tel: +91 44 2817 8200 (Ext 322)