School of Physical Sciences


The Department of Physics of Loyola College was established in 1926, just a year after the college was founded, to offer physics course for the intermediate program. From a humble beginning, it has grown in leaps and bounds to stand tall today, offering B.Sc., M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D programs. So far the department has produced more than 200 M.Phil. and 137 Ph.D dissertations.
At present, there are 20 teaching staff and 6 non-teaching staff in the department. There are 9 research guides supervising more than 40 scholars registered for Ph.D. The department has carried out research in solid state physics, crystal growth and characterization, NLO Studies, organic semiconductors, polymers and thin films, material science, astrophysics, geophysics, nanomaterial synthesis and characterization for various applications.

Courses Offered

Shift I

  • B.Sc. (Physics)
  • M.Sc. (Physics)
  • Ph.D. (Physics)

Shift II

  • B.Sc. (Physics)


Question Papers

HOD Desk

Dr. J. Madhavan
Head of the Department,
JG16 - Department of Physics,
Loyola College (Autonomous),
Chennai - 600 034.
Tel: +91 44 2817 8200 (Ext 327)